For resident Nevada drivers, new restrictions are scheduled to take place for the year 2015. Four new laws have been set in place.

For those under the age of 18, a “truant driving ban” has been initiated. For those under 18 who apply for a driver’s license or learner’s permit after Jan. 1, must have a principal or school official certify that the minimum attendance requirements are met by their school board. Once students obtain their permit or license, they must maintain a good attendance record to keep their driving privileges. If students are declared “habitually truant,” resulting from three or more unexcused absences in a school year, driving privileges could be suspended for 30 or more days. Minors who have already completed high school are exempt, along with those who fight the suspension on a “hardship” basis.

This particular bill was in effort to discourage students from skipping class in Nevada. Nevada records one of the worst dropout rates in the country.

“We are definitely excited about anything that encourages students to attend school,” said Clark County Assistant Superintendent Tammy Malich. “This really impacts students very directly.”

Also starting Jan. 1, the Nevada Court of Appeals has been authorized to begin operations. Formerly, Nevada has no intermediate court beyond the district court, and challenges to the district court were passed to the state’s Supreme Court. In November’s voting, residents of Nevada approved a plan for an appeals court, which is hoped to reduce the backlog of cases entering Nevada’s Supreme Court justices.

Another initial rule allows for longer registration for recreation vehicles and some utility trailers, that extends up to three years rather than a single year. Although no bulk rate is offered, the proponents leading to the bill suggest that owners of seasonal-use vehicles that register every year find out that they have lapsed their registration when ready to go on an outing.

The revision also allows those with a commercial trailer, pulled by a tractor trailer, to register permanently, rather than annually. The permanent registration is $110, in addition to a $3.50 fee for the license plate.

DMV spokesman David Fierro said neighboring states allow permanent registration for trailers. Some truck operators are now registering trailers elsewhere, and the state has lost out on registration revenue.

In other changes for 2015, the Virgin Valley Water District, out of Mesquite, has changed their member board election requirements. The five members chosen for the water district, in the past, were comprised of three members elected by voters in the water district, along with an appointed member by the Mayor of Mesquite, as well as one member voted in from the town of Bunkerville. New changes will reflect that two members will be elected from south of the river, and three from north of the river, to comprise the water board.