2Diamond Mountain FFA was well represented at the 86th Nevada FFA Convention March 17-20. 34 members competed in a wide variety of Career Development Events (CDEs), service learning projects and leadership workshops.

Trevor Merritt was selected as the Nevada Star State FFA Member with his placement in agriculture supervised agriculture experience program. Megan Damele was the State Champion in the Forage Production Proficiency Award Area and her application will be forwarded to National Competition. Crystal Hubbard was awarded a $500 scholarship from the Nevada FFA Foundation.

Walter Noorlander performed his bo-staff routine and the Diamond Mountain Hot Steppers showed off their clogging ability in the annual State FFA Talent Show and impressed the crowd with their skills.

The Nursery and Landscape CDE team consisting of Gracie Damele, Megan Damele, Katie Damele and C.C. Brown who earned first place in their competition and the right to represent Nevada at the National Convention in October.

Gracie was the second high individual and Megan was third high individual in the competition. Our Milk Quality and Products Team consisting of Joseph Watts, Heather Lacovara, Reba Skinner and Shelby Stephenson placed second overall with Joseph earning second high individual. Senior and junior parliamentary procedure teams both placed third.

The senior team consisted of Gracie Damele, Merritt, Nick Hornberger, Brendan Mears, Heather Lacovara, and Brown. Junior team members were Steel Raine, Blaze Snegirev, Kallie Norris, Joseph Watts, Tristan Blake and Kaitlyn Torres. Mears earned second place in the prepared speaking competition with his speech on the phosphorous crisis.

Our chapter also had four members earn the Silver State FFA Degree, the highest degree that the state can bestow upon a member. Members must maintain accurate records of their FFA involvement and supervised agriculture experience (SAE).

To earn the State FFA degree, members must earn a minimum of $2000 or work a total of 600 hours in excess of scheduled class time through their SAE. They must have participated in at least five activities above the chapter level, serve as an officer or committee member, demonstrate 10 procedures of parliamentary law, prepare and present a six minute speech or lead a discussion for 15 minutes and participate in at least 25 hours of community service.

Mears, Hornberger, Merritt, and Brown all earned this award