Jesse Watts won the primary race for Eureka County Sheriff in the June 12 election.

He tallied 294 votes to head off deputy Kenneth “Kenny” Sanders with 182 votes. Shane Cantrell came in third with 110 votes.

In some of the important races statewide, following an expensive and sometimes bitter battle, Democrat Steve Sisolak won the primary over fellow Clark County Commissioner Chris Giunchigliani by a wide margin gathering 72,726 votes to 56,491 for Giunchigliani. On the Republican side, state Attorney General Adam Laxalt, the youngest one in the U.S., cruised in the primary over eight challengers with more than 71 percent of the vote.

In the race for the U.S. Senate, Republican Dean Heller and Democratic Congresswoman Jacky Rosen won their primaries, making their race in November likely to be one of the most closely watched in the nation as Nevada has not had a Democrat governor since 1999.

In the House of Representatives, in District 2, GOP incumbent Mark Amodei won handily over Sharon Angle 42,335 to 10,829, as well as over challengers Joel Beck and Ian Luetkehans. He will face Democratic primary winner Clint Koble, who narrowly edged Patrick Fogerty by a count of 9,451 to 8,614.

In the race for Attorney General, Wes Duncan had a wide margin of victory over Craig Mueller to face Democrat Aaron Ford in November.

Elsewhere, for Lt. Governor, Democrat Kate Marshall emerged victorious and will face Republican primary winner Michael Roberson in November.

Barbara Cegavske will continue as Secretary of State, fending off a challenge from Ernest Aldridge. The State Treasurer race went to Bob Beers over Derek Uehara.