Courtesy photo
The Elks are pleased to announce the 47th annual Elks Hoop Shoot contest winners. Three boys and two girls, ages 8 to 13, won the second round of competition in the free throw contest in Austin on Jan. 26 and have been named district champions. From left, Madison Sorenson of White Pine (girls 11-12) won first place; Miley Oxborrow of McGill (girls 10-11) took second; Olin Morrison of McGill (boys 8-9) placed second; Kade Snyder of McGill (boys 11-12) took second, and Eureka’s Mason Johnson (boys 12-13) brought home first place. Johnson and Sorenson will now advance to the NSEA State Finals in Hawthorne on Feb. 16 where they will compete with other winners from the State of Nevada.